New To Diecast
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
For all newcomers - welcome to the forums! Say hello and tell us a little about yourself and what you collect here!

TOPIC: New To Diecast

New To Diecast 1 year, 7 months ago #1

Fresh Boarder
<p>Hi All,</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Oldkorrigan here. Actually, it's Steven.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I found this place on the suggestion of the wonderful Nobleco. I just bought some Corgi parts from him and they beat my expectations for reproduction parts.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>But this should be about me. I'm somewhere between 30-50 . I have a wife, 2 year old daughter and a giant dog. I work at a Swedish furniture store and live in Quebec. In my spare time (who has any of that now-a-days) I like to go metal detecting. Which is what brought me to this site - in a round about way. Over the years (I've been detecting for 31 years) I have found mountains of old cars. Corgi, Lesney, Dinky, Hotwheels, Majorette...etc etc. Some of these cars are actually quite beautiful - once you get past the roots and rust and rot of being in the ground for 40+ years.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>A while back I started watching baremetalhw on youtube and I really liked the restorations he was doing. That lead me to Wheelsnthangs, then Marty's Matchbox Makeovers and Diecast Ressuection. So, I'm thinking, why not me? My restorations are pretty extreme (almost impossible). That's the fun of it.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I'm using a decent(ish) compressor and airbrush that I got off of amazon in a kit. I'm using Vallejo paints, getting parts from Nobleco and other people around the world and learning a lot and making a lot of mistakes. I hope to get some tips from all of you guys as I am still very much a noob at this and, maybe, make a few friends along the way.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Here's some pics of the cars I'm restoring.</p>
<p>
</p>
Last Edit: 1 year, 7 months ago by oldkorrigan.
The following user(s) said Thank You: karls

Re: New To Diecast 1 year, 7 months ago #2

Fresh Boarder