Corgi Toys Group Forum: From the Mettoy Era to the latest Corgi Vanguards, here's the place to talk about all those great models named after the Queen's favourite dog!

TOPIC: Corgi - Jaguar 2.4 Litre

Re: Corgi - Jaguar 2.4 Litre 6 years, 4 months ago #46

Fresh Boarder
Another pic. I see the wheels are different as well

Re: Corgi - Jaguar 2.4 Litre 6 years, 4 months ago #47

Platinum Boarder
Hi Ammaj - welcome to the board and good luck with your restoration.

You may find it difficult to restore the plastic windows but I think replacements are available and with different wheels, no interior and a different baseplate (pressed stell) it looks to be an earlier model but I am no Corgi expert - any thoughts from anyone??

Hugh

ps: keep it in white think that will look good.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ammaj

Re: Corgi - Jaguar 2.4 Litre 6 years, 4 months ago #48

Platinum Boarder
Just checking the "Great Book of Corgi'.

Your Jag is No. 208 and first released in 1957.

Re-Issued in 1960 as No. 208S with cast base plate, suspension and seats.

White would look great but I personally favor code 3 tv/film conversions.
Perhaps Inspector Morse with a code 3 repro box.

Stuff like that often does really well on Ebay.
Last Edit: 6 years, 4 months ago by CorgiCrossEyed.

Re: Corgi - Jaguar 2.4 Litre 6 years, 4 months ago #49

Fresh Boarder
Thanx for the welcomes. I was thinking black as below. Perhaps I could fit the seat from a later model if I can get it? But first I need a toolkit. Haven't modelled for a while and never Corgi/Dinky. 

Can I ask how you removed those jewelled headlights from the Mk10? OR do you just sacrifice them

Re: Corgi - Jaguar 2.4 Litre 6 years, 4 months ago #50

Hi Ammaj,
a warm welcome from The Netherlands. Nice project you have got there. If you are going to restore the car, you need to make sure all the paint comes off. Depending on what you use, the headlights will dissapear. I know for sure