Reviews written by ModelCarFreak

30 results - showing 1 - 15 1 2 Results per page:
 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Nice resource

Overall rating: 
 
4.2
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
5.0
Good Images:
 
3.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
5.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
January 09, 2012

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Just in time! Some of this information would be hard to gather say in 10 years.

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Past its prime

Overall rating: 
 
2.8
Completeness:
 
3.0
Informative:
 
3.0
Good Images:
 
2.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
3.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
May 21, 2010

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

This was a great book when it came out first but am not sure if I would buy today. The format is a little bit tired.

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Solid

Overall rating: 
 
3.0
Completeness:
 
3.0
Informative:
 
3.0
Good Images:
 
3.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
3.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
August 31, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Like all of Dr. Force's books this is a very solid guideline and good to have.

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Part of the same stable & again details, details,

Overall rating: 
 
3.8
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
4.0
Good Images:
 
3.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
August 20, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

This is my 2nd review of a David Pullen book and this time I have added scans of some of the pages - it shows the Britains evolution of models and the great images he included of each model. It's hard to see how anybody can create a better book for this admittingly narrow subject, so I propose you buy it if you collect Britains Tractors or Tractors in general.

 
Tinplate
 

Just lovely

Overall rating: 
 
3.4
Completeness:
 
3.0
Informative:
 
3.0
Good Images:
 
4.0
Presentation:
 
4.0
Value for Money:
 
3.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
August 10, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Too bad I cannot make it to the exhibition. Love the cars and the story line (it follows a time-line). This is a great resource and a lovely book (great paper, print and binding). For £11 a real deal!

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

A very long list

Overall rating: 
 
3.6
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
3.0
Good Images:
 
3.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
July 03, 2009

Comments (0)
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

This is a almost like a very long restaurant menu, it effectively tells you what is and has been served in the 3inch diecast world over the last 50 years. I estimate it features about 1,000 companies, sometimes it only has one or two sentences; sometimes it is a half a page article with maybe one-third showing one example model.

I think it is a perfect book to read through just to find out which brands one does not know yet or when you have got something new to check out what it says about it. I guess that is what it is for and it does fit the bill. The only negative for me is that not every manufacturer has an image. Maybe the guys are working on a new edition?

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Great to show the variety of early 70s Hot Wheel S

Overall rating: 
 
4.0
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
4.0
Good Images:
 
4.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
June 12, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

This book is great if you want to find out what was out there. I like the Gran Toros and find the Sizzlers interesting (was going to say sizzling). But there is a quite a lot of other stuff like Hot Birds (some cool Hot Wheels style planes) or mean Machines (look as good as the Britains motorbikes).

The book has good explanations, lots of images, versions and prices - it's hard to ask for more. It is very much like the Spectraflames book I reviewed earlier. Just a note that it does only include two pages on the Membetoys range.

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Sill so much missing in my collection!

Overall rating: 
 
3.8
Completeness:
 
3.0
Informative:
 
4.0
Good Images:
 
4.0
Presentation:
 
4.0
Value for Money:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
May 27, 2009

Comments (0)
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Nice addition from Andrew (this is now the 3rd book in this series that I review). Major names such as Dinky Toys, Corgi Toys, Spot-On and Matchbox (Great Britain), Solido (France), Marklin and Gama (Germany ), Tekno (Denmark) and Tootsietoy (USA) are examined, but a nice feature of the book is the wealth of information provided on many smaller and more obscure brands. These include Crescent, Budgie, Chad Valley and Lone Star (UK), CIJ and JRD (France), Dalia (Spain), Buby (Argentina), Gamda (Israel) and many others about which information is hard to come by. A special chapter is devoted to early Japanese diecast models by Cherryca Phenix, Model Pet and Diapet, which are among the rarest and most sought-after of all diecasts (he is really only missing Edil from Italy, also very expensive.

Great insights into company histories are provided, together with 300 photographs of rare examples of the toys themselves, all in mint condition with their original lovely boxes. There is also a good selection of colourful and evocative illustrations from catalogues and period trade advertisements.

For the newcomer to the collecting hobby, this book will provide an ideal guide to the history of the manufacturers active in this field, while most more experienced collectors will still make many new discoveries. Overall a nice treat!

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

An interesting way of doing it

Overall rating: 
 
3.8
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
3.0
Good Images:
 
3.0
Presentation:
 
4.0
Value for Money:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
May 27, 2009

Comments (0)
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

I had to say I first hated it since I am used to look at Matchbox models and identify them by series, number and date. The Guide does it all by the model name, so you have a Regular Wheels model right next to a Tyco one and in the section for bigger models a Superking next to a MoY. That being said I got used to it and it grew on me, I can see the attractions since a lot of early or mid 80 models do not have numbers on the loose models.
The book is very comprehensive (although it does not have variant information which is so all important for Regular Wheels. Overall this is a useful book to have, particular for ranges that are possible outside your comfort zone (like for me the Character toys or Accessory Packs). I was also pleased to see that the models were taken off their cards since I fear that MB goes the way HW has where items off the card will have no more value possible forcing collectors to make that terrible decision to leave it on!

 
Ugly Toys
 

Almost hideous

Overall rating: 
 
3.8
Ugliness:
 
4.0
Originality:
 
3.0
Story:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
March 18, 2009

Comments (0)
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

You can do uglier than that!

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Nice Coffee-table Book

Overall rating: 
 
3.2
Completeness:
 
3.0
Informative:
 
3.0
Good Images:
 
4.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
3.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
March 06, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Here you have a goodLots of look at the Hot Wheels brand and its history through the eyes of an avid fan and collector. Lots of interviews with designers and others associated with Hot Wheels along with many photos, sketches, castings, prototypes and the like. A lot of photos and information holiday cars given as staff bonuses to Mattel employees are inside as well which are quite interesting and show the company is or at one time was a fun place to work. It takes the reader step by step through the design stage of some vehicles. Commentary is also given on the finished product of cars throughout the decades as well as production errors. In the last part the author shares his favourites for every year and that is of course controversial (I disagree with him in a number of years). Overall a good read and a very nice book in terms of quality of print.

Please note that while the book covers 40 years it is not a field or price guide and only has a very small number of Hot Wheels - so do not buy for identification or values. There are other books reviewed here that would be more suitable.

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

It's All in the Details

Overall rating: 
 
4.0
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
5.0
Good Images:
 
3.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
4.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
March 06, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

This book is a hammer (and could be used as one, it's that heavy). "It's All in the Details" is quoting the author - it lists more than 4,000 in incredible details. For a non-fanatic like me it is still fun to see the vast range of Hot Wheels out there.

The layout is very clear, the quality of the paper is great (helps the images being brighter) and the descriptions are accurate and very detailed. Ther is also some general information on Hot Wheels in the front and I quite like Mick's style. So overall if you are interested in variations this is the way to go.

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Somewhat useful tool (if you are into Hot Wheels o

Overall rating: 
 
2.8
Completeness:
 
3.0
Informative:
 
2.0
Good Images:
 
4.0
Presentation:
 
3.0
Value for Money:
 
2.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
March 06, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

If you go hunting and only collect Hot Wheels then this is good resource. But otherwise there are much better books around (some by the same authors). The books covers Redlines, Blackwalls and Collector Number cars up to 1999. It also has some very limited articles on other Hot Wheels matters (like a quick colour guide).

The problem I see with this book is that it will not help you with the all important question is this a rare colour or variation and it will not help with the maze of accessories out there and if you like I also have an interest in other diecast it will make even less sense (unless you want to carry a whole library of small Field Guides around).

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

My new favourite

Overall rating: 
 
4.8
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
4.0
Good Images:
 
5.0
Presentation:
 
5.0
Value for Money:
 
5.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
March 06, 2009

Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I love this book:

- Excellent, excellent photos
- Nice layout
- Values for all Colours
- Great list of accessories, catalogues, track sets, gift sets, buttons etc.

If you are into Spectraflames (or want to write a book about another range and need inspiration) by this one!

 
Diecast Vehicles
 

Wanna know the price of the Hot Wheels 1970 Police

Overall rating: 
 
2.8
Completeness:
 
5.0
Informative:
 
2.0
Good Images:
 
2.0
Presentation:
 
2.0
Value for Money:
 
3.0
ModelCarFreak Reviewed by ModelCarFreak
February 10, 2009

Comments (0)
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

I would be suprised if there was a die-cast model vehicle that didn't make it in to this book. Not so much that the author forgot about it, more that the manufacturer was able to make one without the author knowing every conceivable detail about the model. This book certainly gives the impression that everything to know about model cars is in here.

Perhaps that gives the wrong impression. This is first and foremost a catalog. That means there are no amusing adecdotes about the time when the author first saw a Hot Wheel 80's Corvette and bought it for a fiver only to - imagine! - find it was worth $125. That said, each section has a couple of pages about the respective manufacturer each by a different fan of the company and giddy tales of childhood are not hard to find! These sections are islands of prose in an ocean of lists. Car after car after car after plane, each with a very brief literal description (including a color descriptor as the photography is black and white) and a guide value price. For the serious collector, this is a good guide to have whilst perousing auction sites (this one?) to see how much bang for how much buck you might be getting. It is however, not a fun guide for the uninformed - dedicated collectors only here!

 
30 results - showing 1 - 15 1 2 Results per page: